“From the Japanese American Internment to 9/11”

Folks – I’ve been blessed at this stage of my life with the renewed joys of sheer mental & emotional stimulation within  the offerings of various classes for the past several academic terms at UC@Berkeley located just down the hillside from us.
As some of you know, my courses have been mainly focusing on such arenas of interest as “creative writing” ~ “memoir writing” ~ and with additional classes of focused studies on some powerfully talented “international” writers previously unknown to me.
My recent summertime idling my life away with the dictums of way too many various doctors caused me to miss out on snaring myself a seat in this term’s limited enrollment writing courses. But I am grateful to have become immersed in the course described here below.
With my 1st class for this Fall term already under my belt, I am grateful to be able to listen, witness & acquire a keen awareness of such a significantly failed promise of the quintessential American Dream. This type of detailed, documented & personalized history presented in such a compelling perspective had been previously unknown to me ~ in spite of my 35 years of loving relationship within my own beloved Japanese American families by virtue of my marriage with Stephen, some of whose members were themselves incarcerated within those very concentration camps.

I wish that each of y’all could magically experience this lesson in our shared American history alongside me . In lieu of that, you might watch the Instructor/Professor Tateishi sharing a 3 minute video overview of his course offerings during the intro to the OLLI classes (Osher Lifelong Learning Institute @ UCB) taped a few weeks ago….and available to share with you via the link below….
THX for sharing with me here on my blog my very personal words of my life story …..hugs….jimmy0
UC Berkeley ~ Fall Term- 2014 ~ Courses

Japanese American father, mother and their seven children in Hayward, California awaiting evacuation to concentration camp in 1942
as photographed by Dorothea Lange

 From the Japanese American Internment to 9/11
Professor John Tateishi
“Following the bombing of Pearl Harbor, President Franklin Roosevelt issued an order that resulted in the exclusion and imprisonment of each and all Japanese Americans, an action supported by the Congress and U.S. Supreme Court.
Thirty years after the war, Japanese Americans successfully demanded redress for their imprisonment
A campaign that later informed the government’s actions following the 9/11 terrorist attacks.
We will examine the history, constitutional issues of the incarceration, and the redress campaign and the subsequent U.S. Congressional apology ,
as well as their impact on the government’s treatment of Arab and Muslim communities following 9/11.”

http://olli.berkeley.edu/programs/courses/japanese-american-internment-911

Leave a comment